Kittell won’t seek re-election

Sen. Sara Kittell, a Franklin County Democrat, won’t seek re-election this year, joining at least two other state senators who won’t be returning to the Legislature in 2013.

“You know, I thought 17 years? Time for a change,” Kittell said in a telephone interview Thursday.

Former Gov. Howard Dean appointed Kittell to her seat in 1995, and she has won re-election in the years since.

Kittell, a Fairfield resident who said she has chaired the Senate Agriculture Committee for the past 15 years, comes from a long line of dairy farmers and Vermont politicians.

Her grandfather served in the Vermont House in the 1940s, the Vermont Senate in the 1950s, and ran for governor unsuccessfully in 1954 and 1956, said Kittell.

Kittell’s father also served in the Vermont Senate in the 1970s, said Kittell.

Franklin County will be represented by two new senators when the Legislature reconvenes next year.

Sen. Randy Brock, a Franklin County Republican, is running for governor, so he won’t be in the Senate next year either.

Joe Sinagra, who has been a lobbyist for the housing industry in Montpelier, has announced he is running for Franklin County senator as a Republican.

Sen. Hinda Miller, a Chittenden County Democrat, also won’t be running for re-election.

The St. Albans Messenger first reported Kittell’s decision.



Comments are closed.