Members of the Vermont Telecomm Authority appointed

Gov James Douglas, Senate President Peter Shumlin and House Speaker Gaye Symington jointly announced early Friday afternoon the members of the state’s new Telecommunications Authority, which will be charged with spreading high-speed Internet and cell phone coverage across the state by 2010.

Mary Evslin will be the chair of the authority. She co-founded ITXC Corp. and is the co-founder of the Internet For All Now Committee. I remember seeing her around the Statehouse as the telecom bill made its way through the Senate and the House earlier this year.

The co-chair is Peter Meyer, the former executive director and environmental analyst for the Vermont Public Service Board. Before that, he spent 10 years as the chief coordinator for the Vermont Environmental Board.

Other members include State Treasurer Jeb Spaulding; Joe Bradley, the CEO of the Vermont Economic Development Authority; Al Brisard; Jerry Johnson; Robin Lane; Thomas Murray, the commissioner of the Department of Information and Innovation; Janitech Inc. owner Dawn Terrill; CJ Vadnais and Signal Advertising President David Zahn.

No word yet when they will meet for the first time.

-Dan Barlow

2 Responses to Members of the Vermont Telecomm Authority appointed

  1. montpelier28

    Dawn Terrill? exAOT Commissioner – Why do I think this can nothing but help her bank account.Cynical yes but VT politics at its worst.

  2. Ye Ol' Vermonter

    Dawn Terrill served the state well in several different roles. The fact that she left the Douglas administration for the private business world is an indication of her astute intellect. She can/will make a contribution to this new commission.