About Us

The Vermont Press Bureau

The Vermont Press Bureau was founded as a full-time state news bureau in 1935 as a partnership between the Rutland Herald and the Burlington Free Press, as the Morning Press Bureau. Previously it had been a seasonal reporting bureau, only formulated when the Legislature was in session, since 1919.

In 1963, that partnership was dissolved and the Herald carried on with the renamed Vermont Press Bureau,  with three full-time staffers covering state government and the legislature for both the Herald and then the Barre-Montpelier Times Argus as well.

Follow us on Twitter: @vtpressbureau
Find us on Facebook at facebook.com/vtpressbureau

The Press Bureau reporters are mobile around Montpelier and Central Vermont.

Currently, the Vermont Press Bureau is:

Neal Goswami – Bureau Chief
On Twitter: @nealgoswami

Vermont Press Bureau alumni
(we will be steadily updating this list):

Peter Hirschfeld
Thatcher Moats
Jenna Pizzi
David Taube
Louis Porter
Dan Barlow
Jack Hoffman
Tracy Shmaler
Darren Allen



  1. [...] * The Vermont Press Bureau recently reported that deputy auditor Joe Juhasz, who is overseeing a probe into Beth Pearce’s oversight of the state pension system, made a financial contribution last month to the campaign of Wendy Wilton. Juhasz stated that he’s a longtime Republican who’s also written checks this year to other Republican candidates running for statewide office. Read more. [...]

    [WORDPRESS HASHCASH] The comment’s server IP ( doesn’t match the comment’s URL host IP ( and so is spam.